Graham Rawle tutorial

Following the Viva I was able to have a one-to-one tutorial with writer/illustrator Graham Rawle in order to discuss my project. I had already established that my illustrations had several issues with communicating the wordless narrative and having the chance to have someone look through it was a great opportunity. The tutorial consisted of Graham reading the images sequentially, telling me exactly what he was able to read from the images before asking me the actual intention of each image in order to see where the differences lay.

From this information i learnt where the major errors lay and Graham also gave me instructions on how to make the images that work, work better. The issues that Graham raised generally concerned the movement of the characters through the book, keeping the character’s design consistent through different time periods and keeping movement leading to the right so as to direct the reader’s eye and to maintain momentum through the story. Being able to have someone unfamiliar with your work give you advice was a refreshing change and it was incredibly helpful to be told exactly what someone read from my images without prior knowledge of my own intentions.



Leave a comment